books & video databases reference sources search engines graphic design tutorials resources on-line librarian
 

San Diego Public Library Databases

Using your library card number and last four digits of your phone number, you have access to a long list of databases containing magazine and newspaper articles, photos, biographies, encyclopedias, literary criticism - and much more.

Use the "free databases" listed below if 1) you cannot access the San Diego Public Library databases for some reason, or 2) one of those listed below has information beyond what the SDPL offers.  


Free Databases

By "free databases" we mean databases that Platt Library does not pay for, and which are freely available, via the Internet, to anyone in the world. All of them can be accessed from off campus.

For legal information, local, state and federal, use the San Diego County Law Library web page.

For a great business search engine and directory, go to http://www.business.com/.

To find journal articles when you cannot use our subscription databases, check out MagPortal, FindArticles, Electronic Journal Miner, HighWire (from Stanford University Library's HighWire Press), BUBL Journals , or Project Muse.

Here's a list of sites that offer books free through the Internet:
1) http://bartleby.com
2) http://www.blackmask.com
3) http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/ebooks/ebooklist.html
4) http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/index.html
5) http://www.bibliomania.com
6) http://www.netlibrary.com/reading_room/index.asp
7) http://history.cc.ukans.edu/carrie/stacks/stacks_main.html

The following is a list of medical databases, freely available on the web, which could prove useful (many offer only citations, not the whole article, which, in that case, could be ordered through our interlibrary loan service):

MedScape - The Web site most widely-used by physicians, but open to everyone.  It
offers the Web's largest collection of free, full-text, peer-reviewed clinical  medicine articles.  It contains First Databank, claimed to be the Web's largest drug and disease database.  It also provides easy access to MEDLINE, AIDSLINE and TOXLINE.

PubMed - This is the official Web-based MEDLINE provided by the National Library of
Medicine. Anyone can search MEDLINE's 11 million-plus citations free, but only authorized participants may request documents, which are rarely free.

NLM Gateway - The NLM Gateway allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The current Gateway searches MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, ClinicalTrials.gov, DIRLINE, Meeting Abstracts, and HSRProj.

NewsRx.net - contains health, science, and medical news prepared by medical journalists and science editors.  Click on "Search for Articles" in the left frame.  Displays a list of citations on the topic you chose.  You may request the whole article if you wish - Each article costs $3.00 and is displayed immediately after purchasing.

CANCERLIT - For cancer articles.

Combined Health Information Database (CHID) - Offers titles, summaries, and availability information for health resources from the U.S. National Institutes of Health.

healthfinder® is an award-winning Federal Web site, developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services together with other Federal agencies.  Since 1997, healthfinder® has been recognized as a key resource for finding the best government and nonprofit health and human services information on the Internet.  healthfinder® links to carefully selected information and Web sites from over 1,800 health-related organizations.   

Ingenta also offers highly technical medical citations. 

Also, try
FreeMedicalJournals.com, or this list (created by Grossmont librarians). 

Other useful databases, on various topics, include:

1) Ingenta -  Search 13,787,494 articles from 27,480 publications.  How it works: you search by your topic, and you get abstracts of journal articles.  Then you must find the full-text of the articles elsewhere.
2) AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access)
3) Anthropological Index Online
4) California Digital Library's Searchlight (Public Version)
5) Environmental Information Resources Web Site 
6) AskERIC (education topics) 
7National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database
8) TOXNET (Toxicology Data Network)
9) United States Census Bureau  
10) University of Law Review Project (for complete articles from some law journals) 
11) Gale Group's Literary Index 
12) Artcyclopedia: The Fine Art Search Engine


 
 ©2003 Platt College San Diego